Hopeful Wanderer

After graduating from college, I found myself with a lot of free time on my hands. For as long as I can remember my life had been filled with school, work, soccer, and more soccer. In the beginning I welcomed the calming monotony of waking up, going to work, then coming home to binge watch all my favorite TV shows. However, the longer this went on, the more bored I became. The fact is, I love to learn; it keeps life interesting. So, I decided I would take classes at Columbus State Community College. I chose to take Spanish classes because I’ve always wanted to learn another language, and I mean really learn. I took Spanish in high school, but I never really took the initiative to fully understand it, because I always had other ‘more important’ things to worry about than to focus on learning a new language.

After really immersing myself in these classes and actually trying to learn Spanish, I’ve decided the best way for me to practice is to go to Spain. As I  embark on my trip, I’ve been going back and forth on whether or not to start a blog. Part of me feels like it will be good to write about and share my experiences, the other part of me feels like, who cares? Don’t get me wrong – I’m usually the first to defend the millennial generation – but why do we always feel the need to post every little part of our lives as if people really, truly care?

Then, I decided – don’t care. I’m going to share my experiences with the world – even if know one asked me to!

So here is my blog that in the beginning will focus on my experiences in Spain, but afterwards I hope to keep it updated with all the new things I learn.

I hope you enjoy this journey of discovering new things with me.

Disclaimer: since this whole trip is about improving my Spanish, starting after this post, I will also be adding to each post a blurb in Spanish – it might not be word for word, since my Spanish vocabulary is limited compared to my English. So, if there is anyone out there who is actually reading this and also happens to know Spanish, please feel free to message me with feedback, as I am new to this and won’t know when I’ve made a mistake!

 

 

Leave a Reply

